The Book of Five Rings

Set Up

In a recent post, I reviewed a few popular teachings from U.S. Navy SEALs. I remember a time when required business reading included The Book of Five Rings, by Miyamoto Musashi, which essentially encouraged excellence in all things.

220px-musashi_ts_picThe Game

In my copy of the book, the quote I am most drawn to is:

This too you must study.

Musashi gave much advice on sword styles — one versus two, long versus short, specialization versus diversity. He impressed the need to know your enemy, know yourself, and to know the battle between your enemy and yourself. In all, though, he stressed that study was the most important technique. He was a champion because of his excellence in studying and contemplating, what we may call reflection. He did not take on a challenge he was unprepared for.

Winning Strategy

Play to strengths. Make your strengths stronger. Make your weaknesses irrelevant by combining them with your strength.I find it difficult to get to know people. However, I am very interested in the depth that others put into their hobbies, even pursuits that I am otherwise uninterested. Therefore, when I want to get to know someone (following Musashi’s theme, if I want to understand their strengths and weaknesses), I ask about what they are really good at. Then I can ask about minute details, the things that I am naturally interested in.

Rulebook

What are the 5 rings?
The five rings are the chapters in the book: earth, water, fire, wind, and the void. For a fictional yet apt interpretation of the 5 classic elements, see the Nickelodeon series Avatar: The Last Airbender.

See below for recent blogs that have reviewed the book’s lessons.



Leave a comment